Pistachio-Encrusted Lime Angel Food Cake, Drizzled In Lime Glaze

AcornWorkflow-2010.04.13 20.45.19.png

Happy Monday everyone! One good thing about Mondays is that…well…oh oh a new episode of House is on! I started this post the monday after the boyfriend’s birthday weekend and I remember waking up that monday morning happy I wasn’t hungover or nauseous anymore. Because, you know what happens when I wake up nauseous? I demand that I eat an absurd breakfast and when I say absurd, I really mean it.

AcornWorkflow-2010.04.13 21.03.48.png

Case in point. This, my friends, my fellow food lovers and bacon enthusiasts, was a bacon and cheddar cheese omelet, with home-fries and two slices of whole wheat toast. When I ordered it I imagined a fine blend of bacon and cheddar cheese in the middle of a folded egg. Wrong. The entire thing had a crust of bacon! I died and went to heaven. I also ate the entire meal, but thats between me and the gym.

The reason for the hangover was the two birthday parties the boyfriend had this past weekend. It was a lot of fun, but I think the best part for me was that I got to bake him a cake. Now, he doesn’t have a sweet tooth like mine, but as he was flipping through a Bon Appetit we picked up the other day, he pointed at this cake and said it would be a worthy choice for his birthday dessert. That was all the incentive I needed and I set off to the store to buy the ingredients.

I had no idea how to go about making this cake. I spent some time researching tips and tricks about angel food cake online and realized I might have gotten in over my head. You have to cool it UPSIDE-DOWN for goodness sake. OH and it’s helpful to have a pan with “feet”. WHA? I managed to work my way through videos and blogs that made it all seem less terrifying and I set out on this baking adventure.

Ingredients

From Bon Appetit, April 2010.
By Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito

Cake

  • 1 cup cake flour (or if you don’t have cake flour like me, take 1 cup of AP flour and remove two tablespoons. Then add two tablespoons of corn starch to the flour and sift them together about five times.)
  • 1 1/2 cups superfine sugar (I didn’t have this either, but I did have a food processor which I used to turn granulated sugar into superfine sugar)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 10 large egg whites
  • 2 tsp finely grated lime peel
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar

Lime syrup & Lime Glaze

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 tbsp fresh lime juice, divided: 3 tbsp and 1 tbsp
  • 1/2 cup of unsalted raw pistachios, finely chopped in a food processor
  • 1/2 cup of powdered sugar

Hardware

  • Bundt pan. Ideally one with a detachable bottom and “feet” so you won’t have to teeter your cake on top of a hot sauce bottle like me.

Procedure

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Sift the flour, 1/2 cup of superfine sugar, and salt, three times.
  • Zest a lime!
  • AcornWorkflow-2010.04.13 20.19.02.png

  • Beat egg whites, lime peel and vanilla on medium speed until frothy.
  • AcornWorkflow-2010.04.13 20.54.43.png

    Here’s what ten egg white’s look like! I thought I’d show you because I’ve never seen that many in one bowl before.

  • Add cream of tartar and increase speed to high, continuing until soft peaks form.
  • In small increments, about 2 tbsp at a time, incorporate the remaining 1 cup of sugar and beat until stiff peaks form
  • AcornWorkflow-2010.04.13 20.17.31.png

    It’s amazing how much this “grew” in the bowl. I thought my mixing bowl wasn’t going to be big enough

  • Sprinkle 1/3 of the flour mixture over the egg whites and gingerly fold the flour into the egg white mixture, just until incorporated.
  • Fold in remaining flour mixture in two separate additions, repeating the same technique as before.
  • Transfer this mixture into your ungreased angel food cake pan and smooth the top with a rubber spatula.
  • AcornWorkflow-2010.04.16 16.39.21.png

  • Bake until pale golden and a chopstick can be inserted into the cake and come out clean. This takes approximately 38 minutes.
  • Once you take the cake out of the oven, immediately invert it, either onto it’s “feet” or find a bottle with a slender neck that fits inside the hole of your pan. In my case, it was a hot sauce bottle.
  • Let that teeter there making you extremely nervous for about 45 minutes, or until the cake has cooled completely.
  • AcornWorkflow-2010.04.16 16.41.50.png

  • Once it is cool, gently flip it over so it’s right side up.
  • Here comes the challenging part… Loosen the sides of the cake, as well as, around the hole with a knife and attempt to pry this baby out of the pan. The no-greasing rule was so that your cake would stick to the pan enough not to fall out when you inverted it. The no-greasing rule also makes it extremely difficult to get out of the freaking pan. I presume it would be easier if I had the fancy removable bottom bundt pan, but you know what? This pan was on sale at Safeway for 5 dollars and I’m a sucker for a deal.
  • I got to the point where I didn’t think I was going to be able to remove the cake from the pan without mutilating it so I got bold, thinking I had nothing to lose, and used a butter knife to pry it out. That worked wonders and the cake came right out. Sometimes you just have to go rogue.
  • AcornWorkflow-2010.04.13 20.14.06.pngAcornWorkflow-2010.04.13 20.14.25.png

    The crust, or shell, or whatever it is called on a cake, got a little messed up but, at this point, I was too excited that I hadn’t totally ruined it, that I thought it looked pretty anyway. And to add to this cake’s long list of attributes, it also looked like a giant doughnut. mmmmmm.

  • So now it’s time to make the lime syrup (to secure the pistachios to the cake) and the lime glaze (for drizzling over the top).
  • Combine 3 tbsp of lime juice and sugar in a saucepan. Turn the heat up to medium and stir until sugar dissolves. Brush or pour syrup mixture all over the cake.
  • Before the syrup dries press the chopped pistachios over the entire cake.
  • In a bowl combine the powdered sugar and the remaining 1 tbsp of lime juice and stir until you have incorporated all of the sugar.
  • Drizzle over cake, and serve! Or keep in a cake safe if you’re making it ahead of time.
One response to “Pistachio-Encrusted Lime Angel Food Cake, Drizzled In Lime Glaze

  1. This looks fabulous. FYI dessert beers are the new rage. They pair better with sweets than most wines. Try a Belgian fruit lambic with this the next time.

Leave a Reply

