Roasted Chicken with Cheddar Garlic Polenta & a Fried Egg on Top

Here I am again. Staring down the prospect of beginning my assignment, due tomorrow, and I think to myself…”Maybe if I paint my nails at the same time as I type it wont seem so heinous”. And you know, that works for me. So, my nails are now lime green and my assignment is kinda done.

This title is kinda rough….oh sure, I could shorten it, but then I would be eliminating one of the delicious sounding components, and that’s something I just can’t do. That being said, I don’t think I have any sort of talent for coming up with titles, so for now, until I can figure something out, you’ll be stuck with titles like this one…..I’m working on it.

We made this dinner…and you should too; it was delicious. I ❤ polenta, and cheddar cheese for that matter, just thought I'd get that off my chest.

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 chicken breasts (if you can, I would buy a breast that still has skin on it. It just roasts up so much nicer)
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup polenta
  • 3 cups water
  • ~2 1/2 tablespoons cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp garlic salt + more to taste (if you don’t have garlic salt you can use minced garlic cloves and add salt to that)
  • pepper to taste
  • 2 eggs

Procedure

  • Step one: drink a beer.
  • IMG_0966.JPG

Chicken

  • Step two…..Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees and position an oven rack to the middle position.
  • IMG_0961.JPG

  • We seasoned the chicken with salt & pepper.
  • IMG_0962.JPG

  • In an oven-proof skillet add the butter and oil, then brown the chicken on each side.
  • Put the skillet in the oven and roast for 15 minutes (if you’ve got a chicken breast with skin, roast skin side up first) then flip it over for another 15 minutes. At about 30 minutes begin checking for doneness. If you have a meat thermometer it should register 160 degrees at the thickest part of the breast. If you don’t have a meat thermometer it takes roughly 20 minutes per pound of chicken so you’ll just have to cut into it to ensure doneness.
  • IMG_0964.JPG

Polenta

  • Bring 3 cups of water to a boil.
  • Add 1 cup of polenta and reduce to a simmer.
  • You pretty much need to continuously stir the polenta or it will clump.
  • Cook for approximately 25 minutes or more, depending on your preferred level of polenta firmness.
  • A few minutes before the polenta is done add the cheddar cheese and garlic salt, and stir until combined.
  • AcornWorkflow-2010.04.03 11.03.12.png

Eggs

  • Cook eggs to preference. We like our eggs over easy.

IMG_0968.JPGIMG_0970.JPG

We also like eggs that look like the Donnie Darko bunny and wine bottles…

Putting it all together

  • Pour 2/3 of a cup of polenta on your plate and top with the fried egg. Serve chicken on the side or, if you want to get crazy, on top of the egg.

IMG_0971.JPG

And here is where I lose day light. The poor iphone doesn’t work well in dark conditions.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

