Joe’s Valley? How about not. We’re in Vegas baby.

Hello out there! So long story (which I will post about when I get home) short, Joe’s valley was covered in cold, wet, and rapidly melting snow,


(This was taken from the cave we called home for three days. It kept us warm and out of the snow, however, after a little while the snow melt started encroaching upon our dry haven. I think that was around the same time we decided to leave.)

and Vegas was sunny and in the 70’s. We endured three solid days of low temps and slushy conditions and in return got in 1 1/2 days of climbing done. The forecast for the next few days didn’t look good, so we got in the car and drove the 6 1/2 hours to Red Rocks, NV, located west of Vegas. As of right now we’ve had two good days of climbing since arriving on Sunday. The boys are climbing today, but, after yesterday’s hard session I needed a rest day. It’s hard to admit that I can’t go as hard as them right now, but my wrist was hurting and I have to reason with myself that I haven’t climbed in 10 weeks, and, maybe I need to go kinda easy. So here I am in Vegas, at the Coffee Bean just relaxing in the AC and drinking some green tea. I have so much to write about that I don’t even know where to start. This trip has been pretty ridiculous. At points it seemed like nothing else could possibly go wrong, but we’ve stuck with it and have some great stories to tell. I’ll get into detail later when I’ve got more time but for now I wanted to feature some of the dinners we’ve had, because, when everything else was falling apart, at least we ate like kings (and queens). For some of the meals it was either too dark, or my phone was dead and I was unable to get a picture, but I’ll detail them as much as I can.

Night 1: Bratwurst Burritos

  • Johnsonville pre-cooked bratwursts
  • Alejandro’s flour tortillas
  • Shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • Canned corn
  • Hot sauce of your choice. I prefer the green tabasco.

Basically, you spear the brats with skewers or a stick (if you wanna get real outdoorsy) and you stick them into the fire to warm them up and to help develop that irresistible blackened outer layer. Once the brats are ready shove them inside a tortilla, add the cheese, corn, and hot sauce, then proceed to roll it into a burrito. Don’t tell anyone, but I had two. I think that totalled like 950 calories in one sitting, but, after a hard day of steep hiking and crushing boulder problems it isn’t such an unreasonable dinner. (at least thats what I tell myself).

Night 2: Ground beef and sauteed onion pasta w/ basil garlic sauce

  • Ground beef
  • Whole wheat pasta
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 jar of basil garlic pasta sauce
  • Salt

We boiled the pasta and sauteed the onions at the same time because Mr. M has this awesome two burner Coleman propane stove.


See those yellow globs? Thats our olive oil, which froze along with every other liquid except the whiskey.

Once the onions are nice and soft and have gained some nice brown color, reserve them in a bowl. Add the ground beef.

Once that is thoroughly cooked turn off heat and combine with the drained pasta, onions, and sauce. Now you’ve got dinner!


Look it’s Mr. M cooking dinner for us!

One thing, make sure to clean your pot for the next morning or you’ll be forced to drive into Orangeville, UT and buy coffee from the Food Ranch, “your full line grocery store”.

Night 3: Eating On the road to Vegas

  • ummmm, I think a whole grain bagel+strawberry preserves and a grapefruit…..

Night 4: Steak Burritos

  • Sirloin steak
  • Shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • Canned corn
  • Chopped green bell pepper
  • Thickly sliced yellow onion
  • Black beans (I, unfortunately, have a food intolerance to all legumes and peppers)
  • Flour tortillas
  • Hot sauce

Pan fry steak and let rest for 10-15 minutes. This will help the steak retain all its delicious meat juice when you cut it up. Saute the green bell pepper, onion, and corn in a pan. Cut up steak and put it inside a tortilla. Add as much green bell pepper, onion, corn, beans, hot sauce, seasoned salt and cheese as you can handle and wrap it up! I had two of these too, it was so good my head almost exploded.

That night disaster struck. Two caribeaners took out the rear windshield on my car. Wedged between the trunk and the glass, they cleverly created a lever and when the trunk was closed they shattered the windshield. Luckily, there was tint lining the glass and the shards stayed contained until we could drive into Vegas the next morning. We were so tired of things going wrong and not being able to catch a break that we found a $40 hotel room at the Excalibur and stayed there for the night. That hotel is absoludicris!


It’s pretty hard to photograph this at night because that electronic sign is soo bright. I had a hard time driving down the strip in general because I kept getting distracted.

So, for those of you who haven’t stayed here, it’s themed after Camelot. The hotel is divided into Tower 1 and Tower 2 and they feature a “dungeon” to eat dinner in.


We hung out by the pool while we waited for lunch to be delivered


This was lunch and it was delicious.

Now the windshield was still broken. The repairman was meeting us in the parking lot of the hotel, sometime between 12pm and 5pm, so we spent the afternoon waiting for that as well. He finally called at 4:30pm.

He fixed it up all nice and pretty and we continued enjoying our stay at the silliest hotel on the strip. Let me give you a tour of the hotel room!


This was hung in the bathroom and it is by far the most awesome painting ever.


Who knows why there needs to be two door stops and why one had to be mounted on a piece of wood


This is what happens when three rock climbers get a hold of a hotel room

Thats all for now. I’ve got to head out and pick up the burly men from the boulders. I’ll be back soon to continue chronicling our dinners. I’ve got a special one for St. Patty’s day!

2 responses to “Joe’s Valley? How about not. We’re in Vegas baby.

  1. that painting is so amazing!!! and what a couple of days… whew.

  2. Sounds like quite an adventure, or indenture. At times like this I have found a nice IPA (or two) can settle both the stomach and the mind.

Leave a Reply

