Bad day? Trust me, all you need is some waffles and a corn-bag.

Ok so here’s the low down. I leave for Joe’s Valley, Utah, in ummmmm 28 hours. I have this morning to finish up the assignments that will be due over break and what do I do? I write a new blog post. Seeing as we’re on the topic of school I got my exam results from last week! 98% on bio, and 95% on nutrition. (touchdown dance) I celebrated on Saturday with french bread pizza + Gin & soda. It felt wonderful to finally relax.

AcornWorkflow-2010.03.10 09.32.07.png

I don’t only celebrate for good days. Sometimes it can be just as satisfying to celebrate a terrible day. So bad it’s laughable. Murphy’s law to the max. It’s on those days I tend to lean towards breakfast for dinner. Nothing is quite as comforting to me as a huge plate of pancakes or hot off the griddle waffles topped with real maple syrup.

AcornWorkflow-2010.03.10 13.11.17.png

Ingredients

Adapted from Cooking Light

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon (very important, tastes amazing)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 cups milk (any kind, 1%, 2%, whole if you’re feeling crazy)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp sugar (or more depending on how sweet you like your waffles)

Procedure

  • Pre-heat your waffle iron.
  • Combine flours, cinnamon,salt, baking powder in a large bowl. If you’ve got a sifter (which I proudly just bought!) then break it out and sift these ingredients together.
  • Combine milk, oil, and egg yolks in another bowl and add to the flour mixture. You’re going to want to stir that until the bater is smooth.
  • In the bowl of a stand mixer (or just a large bowl) beat the egg whites at a high speed until foamy. Then add in the sugar mixing until soft. Fold the egg whites into the rest of the batter.
  • Coat the waffle iron with oil of some sort (cooking spray, butter, oil + pastry brush)
  • Go ahead and spoon as much batter as it takes to cover your waffle iron and cook until the steam stops coming out.
  • Top with whatever you like! I used pure maple syrup on mine.

AcornWorkflow-2010.03.10 13.10.36.png

And right before bed, there’s nothing like a cup of hot tea and a corn-bag, to set your day right.

AcornWorkflow-2010.03.10 13.12.09.png

Oh and Grandma,thanks for introducing me to the corn bag as soon as I was born. My life would truly be lacking without it.

Well that’s all I’ve got for you today. And yes, I’m supposed to be working, but since I’m at school and the boyfriend is at home I was able to sneak and finish this post before I leave for Joe’s. He’s such a slave driver. I’ll try and put up a post while I’m gone, chronicling the food and cooking adventures that are sure to be had while we’re camping for 9 days in Utah. Now, I want to end with two pictures.

1. Target has by far the WEIRDEST shopping carts.
AcornWorkflow-2010.03.10 09.33.07.png

2.Isn’t this just the cutest mug? Totally my favorite. I’ve had to fight for it on several occasions when people have tried to talk me into giving it to them. (ahem…Logan)

AcornWorkflow-2010.03.10 13.11.57.png

See you in 10 days!

2 responses to “Bad day? Trust me, all you need is some waffles and a corn-bag.

  1. totally the cutest mug. next time i won’t make my intent to steal it so obvious…

  2. I would just like to point out how I have never received a bean pillow

Leave a Reply

