Two Cookie Recipes + The Week In Review

It all began on Sunday. I embarked on the journey of microbiology. We had an exam today (Friday) and along with it came a 116 question study guide. Not only was that an overwhelming amount of information, it was also annoyingly vague. Anyone know what I’m talking about?? Its like oh here’s a study “guide” except all it did was guide me to the realization that it was saying to study EVERYTHING. So that would be seven chapters, two of which were covered Monday and Wednesday. Ahhhhhhhrghrrrhgh. Since Sunday I have phased through the different emotional states that accompany an entire week spent studying for one exam.

  1. Laziness. “Oh man I’ve got all week to do this, how about I just watch Deadwood now.
  2. Desperation. “How am I possibly going to get through all this material, I’m only one woman, and I already wasted yesterday watching Deadwood!”
  3. Focus. “Ok, today will be the day that I get through at least three chapters, and then I’ll be fine”
  4. Boredom. “……………”
  5. Acceptance. “Hey soon it’ll be over and I’ll be enjoying a beer and a pizza and maybe some cookies, and I’ll have my life back……maybe a hundred cookies.”
  6. Readiness. “Mr. Microbiology exam, prepare for total domination”

Did I also mention I had a nutrition exam right before the micro exam? Yeah, I didn’t study for it, but I think it went O.K. Thanks, in part, to my recently acquired obsession with my own nutrition.

But guess what??!! ITS ALL OVER. And, now, I can post these recipes that have been sitting here lonely and dormant all week. Lets start with cookies.

Peanut Butter, Chocolate, and Bacon Cookies

As usual, I had a great excuse for making these cookies. I am a preceptor for an anatomy and physiology lab. Basically, for those of you who don’t know what a preceptor is (because I certainly didn’t before I came to U of A), I am a TA’s assistant. I help out with distributing papers, leading review sessions in class, and about once every week I present a clinical application of the information the students learned that week. Its pretty fun and it helps me work on my public speaking. I have that pesky problem where I turn tomato red every time I get up in front of people to talk. Anyways, the students were having an exam (Wednesday) and I like to bring baked goods for them because a) I need guinea pigs to test out my recipes b) I remember how annoying those exams were, and, c) I enjoy the appreciation that comes along with bringing sweets to a bunch of college students.

I found this recipe on the Fat Girl Trapped in a Skinny Body blog. I made some modifications to the original recipe but the fact that there is bacon in it, remains.

Ingredients

Makes about 36 cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/1 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt ( I like to add a little more than this but I like copious amounts of salt in everything)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips. (I wanted to use dark chocolate chips, but Safeway was out of them and I’m too cheap to by a bar of dark chocolate for cookies)
  • 5 strips bacon, cooked until crisp, then crumbled

Procedure

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper and lightly mist that with cooking spray.
  • In a standing mixer, set up with the paddle attachment, combine the peanut butter and butter, then add the sugar and cream it with the butter, until nice and fluffy.

  • Add the egg and combine on medium speed for about 1 minute
  • In a different bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

  • Add the flour mixture to the mixer and beat on low speed, just until combined. Add the chocolate chips (dark or semi-sweet) and the bacon and mix until evenly incorporated.

  • Refrigerate dough for 30 min or more.

Silly cat, cookies are for me.

  • Scoop the dough onto the cookie sheets using a tablespoon measure and press the cookies as flat as you can with the back of a fork, making pretty cross-hatches on the tops of them. You want them to be about 1.5 inches apart. (I failed at this part. My cookies kept falling apart. However I did an experiment and even though they seem to be in pieces they come together during baking to make one complete cookie. They do,I found out, taste just fine even if you don’t press them down.)
  • Bake for 7-10 minutes or until the edges and bottoms of cookies are golden brown.
  • Cool on a wire rack.

Oatmeal Coconut Cookies

These cookies were also very, very, very, good. If only I could combine this and the previous recipe in my evil laboratory and create a chocolate chip, peanut butter, bacon, oatmeal, and coconut confection. It would most definitely be the alpha cookie. One word of caution though…DO NOT underestimate the spreading powers of these cookies, I did and the most terrifying creature emerged from my oven………

Cookie Blob!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (I didn’t have any and the cookies still tasted fine)
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup dried, shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tblsp honey
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Procedure

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper and mist them with cooking spray
  • Cream the butter and sugar in a standing mixer
  • Add egg and vanilla
  • Add all remaining ingredients and mix well
  • Measure out 1 tbsp of batter and roll it into small balls placing them at least 2 inches apart, unless the cookie blob is the kinda thing you’re into.
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes depending on your tastes. 10 minutes will give you a chewier cookie and 12 minutes will produce a crunchy one.
  • Let them cool on the cookie sheets for a while, they will be very soft when they’re first taken out of the oven.

Here’s a secret…….

I’ve been using bread flour for all my baking lately. Shhhhhhh. But seriously, this HUGE bag of flour was $6.59 at Costco.

3 responses to “Two Cookie Recipes + The Week In Review

  1. Yay! I signed up for the “notify me of new posts via email” and it worked! This a.m. there it was….an email from “iwantseconds”. Your description of the week before the exam is hilarious. I love how you “blend” the food into your stories. I’m having so much fun – never thought I’d be reading blogs!

  2. Yea, who knew my mother would be reading blogs. It’s not like I have been blogging or anything for the past year and a half.

    Murphy, I have a couple recipes that I want to send to you to blog about. While I would love to have a food blog, I think 2 blogs is all I can manage at this point. When I get a chance, I’ll hit you up with the recipes! love the posts. : )
    -d

  3. Wow! Peanut butter and chocolate chips and bacon. They look fantastic and i’ll try them. Your description of the psyhchological phases of approaching an overwhelming micro exam are spot on! I’m glad it’s over and I don’t care what your grade was because, trust me on this, in forty years you won’t care either. And that’s the word from Auntie Linda at Lake Hodges. You go girl.

Leave a Reply

