Stir Fry Template

I started seriously cooking about a year ago right around the time I got together with my boyfriend. I would stand in the kitchen and watch him whip up this delicious meal with (what appeared to me to be) kitchen super powers. I was so impressed, and then I became determined to try and be just as good as him. (Competitive much?) I politely demanded that he teach me his ways and, he, being the wonderfully patient person he is began educating me. Fast forward to now and his knife and all other sharp object skills, still surpass mine by a long shot. Here’s an example, I’ve been banned from using the mandolin because of an incident where I sliced off the tip of my thumb. (did I mentioned i had just been warned to be careful “because it’s easy to cut your fingers”, and did I also mention I had just grumpily shook off that warning claiming “I know, I know”?) Anyways, even without the aid of the mandolin for slicing I’ve managed to learn the basics and in the process have realized my passion for food and cooking.

This passion for food combined with my passion for rock climbing has also led me to learn about nutrition and how what I eat affects my body. It’s taken since August, but I finally have managed to settle into a healthy diet. At first it was kind of a shock to go from mindlessly eating whatever I wanted to actually taking the time to evaluate each food item I was putting into my body. There were lots of times where I felt deprived because I was no longer “allowed” to eat that potato, egg, and cheese burrito from Taco Shop at three in the morning, or half a Hungry Howie’s large pizza, or that entire order of orange chicken from Pei Wei. Now I don’t want to make it sound like I don’t eat those things anymore because I certainly do, just less often. Because, lets be honest, when Pei Wei orange chicken is sitting in front of me, I’m going to eat it all. I just try not to eat until I hit a food coma all the time.

Many times I have heard, from friends and family members, that they just don’t know what to cook for dinner and part of the reason I started this blog was to share what I make and try to show that there are lots of great recipes that are easy, cheap, and healthy. The key is just committing to making something and not backing out when ordering a pizza or going for sushi seems easier.

Stir fry is the epitome of easy, cheap, and healthy. It is also a pretty integral part of my diet. I eat it about every other day and luckily it never seems to get boring. It’s great because its so variable. You can take whatever veggies are in the fridge, add a some meat if you’ve got it, or a fried egg on top, pour it over rice or noodles and you’re done! This stir fry recipe should be viewed as a kind of template. Veggies, meats and toppings of any kind (there is no judgement in stir fry) should be incorporated. I’ve certainly put some weird stuff in my stir fry’s. Ground beef anyone? Its not as disgusting as it sounds, I swear.


Basic Stir Fry

Ingredients

Makes 1 serving

  • 1 cup white rice (you’ll end up with about 2 servings of rice)
  • 1 7/8 cup water
  • 3/4 tbsp fresh chopped ginger
  • 3 green onions
  • Big bunch of kale (as much as you want, I had 2 oz)
  • 1 zucchini squash (4 0z)
  • 1/2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar (most vinegars would work, I just prefer the taste of this kind)
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp chili-garlic paste
  • 1 tbsp hot water
  • 1 egg

(top) I ❤ vegetables
(bottom) These are all the ingredients for the sauce, I generally prefer Kikkoman soy sauce but this one isn’t bad.

Procedure

  1. Combine rice and water and ginger in a sauce pan and bring to a boil. Turn down heat and simmer (with lid on) until all the water has evaporated. Fluff rice with spoon. Grab a kitchen towel and wrap it around the lid of the pan and put the towel wrapped lid back on the pan. The towel, I think, keeps the rice moist and warm while you’re waiting for the rest of the stir fry to cook. Be aware though, sometimes the lid gets like vacuumed sealed onto the pot so it may require a little muscle to access the rice. Once the other parts of the stir fry are getting close to done, measure out 1 cup of rice into a bowl.

  2. My rice is pink because I used pickled ginger instead of fresh ginger, and pink is just cooler than white anyways.

  3. Heat a pan over high heat. Once hot enough (3-4 minutes) add oil. You’ll know its hot enough if the oil easily slides around the pan. Add all veggies and sauté until desired tenderness, I probably go for 5-7 minutes because I like my kale really wilted. Once cooked add veggies to bowl.
  4. Combine, peanut butter, rice vinegar, soy sauce, chili-garlic paste, and hot water together in a small bowl. Stir together until evenly combined. Poor over rice and veggies.
  5. Grab a small fry pan and heat it over high heat. Add oil once the pan is hot enough (3-4 min). Crack egg into pan and let cook on that one side for about 3 minutes or so. You want to make sure to get the underside is cooked enough that it isn’t sticking the pan and is easy to flip. Then, flip the egg over and cook the other side for 1-2 minutes max. Serve whole fried egg on top of veggies.

  6. Now stir! I like to break the runny yolk over everything and mix it all up.
  7. Finally, the best part, EAT!
  8. “nummnumnumm”

Nutritional Info

This accounts for using 1/2 tbsp of oil to cook everything
Calories: 412
Carbohydrates: 51g
Protein: 17.4g
Fat: 17g

More than 100% DV of: Vitamin C, K, A

One response to “Stir Fry Template

  1. What I enjoy most is the nutritional values! =]

Leave a Reply

