Pork & Noodles w/ Chili Garlic Sauce + The Kitchen Dinosaurs

So I thought I should provide some background concerning how I go about dinner. I’m pretty neurotic and I love to plan. This entails spending an hour or so on Sunday, meal planning for the week. I map out lunch, dinner and, snacks. Most of my meal ideas come from used copies of Cooking Light or their website. They will often have really delicious recipes that stay within a reasonable calorie range, and yes, I’m one of those calorie counting people. I swear it started as an innocent curiosity and now has become a full blown habit. eeek.
Also, and my boyfriend can back me up when I say this, I am extremely concerned with fairness regarding meal portions. Purchasing a scale probably saved me from a mental breakdown. Now, I can divvy up the food equally between bowls based on weight. It’s a wonderfully twisted thing.

Pork & Noodles w/ Chili Garlic Sauce

This recipe turned out to be very good, and I highly recommend giving it a try. It comes from the Cooking Light website. I’ve made some alterations to the original recipe to better fit what ingredients I had in the fridge.

Makes 2 servings.

    Ingredients

  • 60z or a little less than 1/2  pound  pork tenderloin, trimmed
  • One serving, according to the package, of udon noodles (you can substitute fettucini and the serving is about 1 cup cooked pasta)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1 1/4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1  tablespoon  rice vinegar (or any vinegar that you’ve got on hand)
  • 1/2  tablespoon  minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 3/4  teaspoons  chili garlic sauce/paste
  • .5  cup  thinly sliced green onions
  • Big handful of spinach or any other green veggie
  • About 5 tablespoons finely chopped fresh mint (this is quite possibly the most important ingredient in the recipe, do not exclude it!)

    Instructions

  1. Cook noodles according to package directions and reserve 2 tablespoons of pasta water. Drain and keep warm.
  2. Cut pork into thin slices and pan fry. Set aside
  3. Chop spinach and pan fry until wilted
  4. Thinly slice green onions and mint.
  5. Combine soy sauce, chili garlic paste, vinegar, and peanut butter + 2 tablespoons of the pasta water. stir and set aside
  6. Divide the noodles, pork, spinach, and sauce evenly among the bowls.
  7. Sprinkle mint and raw green onions on top.

I would have more pictures but I’m not quite used to taking step-by-step photos. I will have more for the next post. As it is I have these:


(Here is my uncooked spinach and the sauce)


(See, weighing out the noodles. It helps me sleep at night)

DINOSAUR WAR!

These playful dinosaurs were just lying around in the back yard. Now they’re the kitchen dinosaurs. Most of the time they’re peaceful animals but every once and a while they get vicious.

You’ll never escape now, I’ve got you by the tale thanks to my unusually huge mouth! muhahha”

“rawwrrrrrr!”

Leave a Reply

