Right anterior lesions & Chocolate Molten Lava Cake

About a year ago I developed all the classic symptoms of Gourmand syndrome, which has been associated with right anterior lesions. Click here to learn more about it! Ever since then I have been obsessed with food and learning how to cook. I’ll be using this blog to chronicle my adventures hopefully highlighting the successes, but not excluding the epic fails. I hope you like it!

Chocolate Molten Lava Cake

This recipe was originally found on The Pioneer Woman. I adore her and almost spent all my extra budget money on her cookbook yesterday, but I resisted. I made this because it’s the weekend and thats a good enough excuse to bake something. The original plan was to make this for my dad and step-mom who love a good chocolate dessert. My dad was sick and my step mom and my boyfriend were full. I made it anyway. I couldn’t help it. It’s hot, gooey, individually served, and chocolate that just begged to be accompanied by coffee ice cream, which in my opinion is the king of all ice creams. Out of the four cakes, one was a complete success.

rocky

This is Rocky. My kitchen helper, on loan, because he’s actually my dad’s dog. He likes me better though.

is it ready?

He’s also wondering when the cakes will be ready.

Recipe time!
Cake
4 pieces (squares) Semi-sweet Baking Chocolate
½ cups Butter=1 stick=8 tbsp
1 cup Powdered Sugar
2 whole Eggs
2 whole Egg Yolks
6 Tablespoons Flour
Whipped Cream (I excluded this because I don’t really like it….I know that sounds crazy, but I’ve also never had a McDonalds chicken nugget, so there.)
2 cups Real Whipping Cream
2 Tablespoons Sugar

1. Preheat the oven to 425 and prepare 4 custard cups by coating them with cooking spray

cups

2. Combine butter and chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl. I broke the chocolate up into it’s individual pieces. Microwave on high for about 1 minute. Stir together until all of the chocolate has melted.

butter+chocolate

2. Stir in one cup of powdered sugar until smooth.

sugar
(that hand is my other kitchen helper)

3. Whisk in the whole eggs and the egg yolks until combined. Then whisk in the flour.

flour+chocolate
(As you can see I couldn’t find a whisk. It was surprisingly discouraging, like I was missing my hand or something. A fork worked fine.)

4. Divide evenly among the four cups and bake . The time given in the original recipe was 13-14 minutes.

I baked the first three cakes for 13 minutes and they were not molten inside.

fail

The fourth cake I baked for 11 minutes and the inside oozed out triumphantly.

molten

I win.

2 responses to “Right anterior lesions & Chocolate Molten Lava Cake

  1. mom & grandma & grandpa

    how do we blog?

  2. I am going to make this on Friday night. Looks FAB!!

Leave a Reply

